Archive for January 25, 2012

“The wastebasket is a writer’s best friend.”

Writing to me has always been something that I do not particularly enjoy. When a teacher or a professor would assign something for me to write about, I would dread having to start it. The worst part for me was having to come up with a topic to write about if one was not given. I always would think that something that might  be important for me to write about was not going to be of any importance to my audience, so I would be very hesitant in what I was choosing. Once I got the topic down, I would just begin to write. I have never been one to write drafts and really pay attention to the process that goes in to writing something of value. I put things off, and eventually just sit down at my computer and type away until I have the number of pages I am required to complete. Often, many people believe that this might produce horrible writing, but I feel that usually I could come up with something that was actually very good. Another bad thing about writing that I have always hated is having someone else read what I have written. Because I do not believe I am a very good writer, I hate having people judge the words I put down on paper. I feel that people are too overly critical and if they do not agree with what I am saying, even if the writing is of good quality, they will not like it. Furthermore, if it is being looked at for a grade, I will end up getting a lower one than I anticipated. Really, it’s sort of ironic that I am starting this blog when I first stated that I dislike writing. But a blog is much different from what I am used to. I can write what I feel, when I feel and how I feel! (:

January 25, 2012 at 12:42 pm 2 comments


January 2012
M T W T F S S
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 12 other subscribers

Goodreads